Just for Fun: The Sunshine Award

Designed by Mary from RandomSoju

Every time I decide to spend some time here, there’s a sense that I’ve come back to a place that is slowly withering away. I honestly don’t want this blog to drop to the wayside, but life seems to like throwing rocks rather than gifts when it comes to keeping up with this place. In light of all that I’ve failed to do, I’m really happy to have received the Sunshine Award meme from Sphere of Gray’s timeinthegray. It’s in moments like like these that I enjoy a little bit of sunshine from the blogging community to remind me that I’m in fact not writing to a wall. Thank you so much for providing that bit of warm sun.

And like any of these blogging memes, there are questions to be answered. Here goes nothing!

1. How were you introduced to dramas?

The boring answer: K-pop. More specifically, Super Junior. Even more specifically, Siwon.

My first drama was Oh! My Lady, while certainly cute, is something highly doubt I would watch again. Well… never again until I find myself staring at yet another rom-com that I want to SMH at yet gobble up like cheap candy. I think what made K-pop so fascinating was the culture beyond the music–the fact it was as much a communal experience as it is isolated audio. The world of K-Dramas feel the same way. If we don’t talk about them, it feels like I’m missing some critical component of drama watching.

2. Marathon or Live Watch?

Live watch for sure. Again, the community is really important to me when it comes to drama watching, plus live watches make the time commitment more feasable.  Sparing an hour or two a week is less taxing than letting yourself get caught up in 16 episodes at once. There are exceptions, however, as the best of K-Drama is always worth marathoning. The holistic experience may actually benefit in that case.

3. What is an important life lesson you’ve learned from dramas?

I have no idea whether this is meant to be directed at a specific drama or dramas at a whole, but I’m really thankful to K-Drama and K-pop for letting me realize that criticism is the key to understanding literature. No matter the “brow” of the material, being able to take a piece of work and understand what parts work and what parts don’t and WHY, is such an important life skill to have. Humanity thrives on critical and abstract thinking, and despite claims that television melts your brain to goo, I firmly believe that television and visual arts are things that enhance thinking and world-view.

I’ve also learned life lessons from individual dramas in the most fleeting moments, and I think that what gets posted on Underground K-Drama reflects those lessons.

4. What is your go to form of entertainment during a drama slump?

Huh… I never really thought about that before. I kind of go through phases where different entertainment forms dominate, and those phases aren’t entirely predictable. Recently I’ve been watching a lot of webseries..es, especially literary ones. I like that videos are a mere 5-10 minutes which makes keeping up much easier. You can watch whenever you want a quick break.

5. What’s your take on the gender disparity of SLS?

I think a lot of SLS is founded on aesthetics and personal attachments. I know this doesn’t apply to everyone, but there’s a sense of Mary-Sue-ing (I’m taking liberties with the word here!) into the female lead, and SLS is a manifestation of your attractions, not your understanding of what the character needs and wants. That being said, there’s a lot of ways that this same phenomenon can happen, but SLS seems to be the most high profile condition. I think that this reasoning also explains why people never go against their favorite actors when it comes to SLS.

In the case of SLS from the female perspective, the self-insertion explains why Female SLS is so uncommon. The vast majority of screenwriters and audiences are female, so it is far more likely that drama writers will pen a love triangle that appeals to (cis)females. It’s hard to say how male writers deal with the phenomenon, though I would suppose they do something similar but with different results.

To be honest, I haven’t really experienced SLS before, just because my mind doesn’t jump to supporting the “Hot, Nice Guy (TM)” or the “Protective, Sweet Guy (TM).” Many second leads come off two dimensional and over-protective to me, so I don’t form that attachment. When it comes to the first lead, I’m not always supporting him either. What matters most is that our main character is content with her life and makes the right decisions for her.

My Nominees:

I know this is such a cop out, but I’d like to nominate any blogger that reads this. The sunshine award shines light on the blogging community and I want to share the little dim bulb I have with all of you. Please leave a note here if you decide to answer my questions and accept the award!

My Questions–FYI they are quite unusual for an Asian Ent blog.

1. Why do you blog? Do you foresee yourself quitting?

2. How to you spend your free time outside of blogging?

3. What is the most influential book you’ve read? What is the most thrilling one?

4. Do you drink Tea? If so, what is your favorite kind? If not, explain why you think your drink is better.

5. Which social media platform do you think is the most useless?

2 responses to “Just for Fun: The Sunshine Award

  1. I love your insightful answers, particularly to #3 and #5! Thanks for responding so promptly; I saw your post earlier but didn’t have the chance to comment until now. It did give me some food for thought to munch on between classes, so thank you for that!

    I’m happy to see that you addressed certain aspects to SLS that I too have contemplated, namely, that there are two sides to the matter—the abundance of female viewers and that of female writers. Rare exceptions to the rule of Male SLS often come with a caveat: i.e., supporting the second female lead only professionally but not romantically; or she’s extremely well-written and easily empathized with, yet disliked by default, as a knee-jerk response. It’s almost as if we’ve been treated like Pavlov’s dog, which is a shame because such behavioral conditioning (1) ends up making the drama-watching experience enjoyable only when radical changes are brought into play and (2) obliterates any appreciation for some of the more minute intricacies that set a certain show apart from, say, your standard love-triangle K-drama. I sometimes feel that SLS creates a situation whereby all conduits to critical thinking are lost… but as a whole, dramaland has given me a newfound appreciation for the analysis of literature and visual arts, so yeah, I can definitely relate to that life lesson you spoke of! I framed the question so that people could respond either seriously or sarcastically in terms of drama narrative, but you took the metaphysical angle and I like that. c:

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Musings of a self-professed Dramaholic·

Comment

