Just For Fun: Remixing It Up

rwby_cover

I’ve come across a unusually large number of remixes recently of songs I liked, songs I didn’t take to initially, and just plain weird ones, and it inspired me to make “remixes” the theme for this week (or last week…).  The songs below are remixes, remakes, covers and mash-ups that I found most interesting from a variety of genres, some not even Asian.

RWBY

“RWBY Theme: I Burn Extended Edition”

I finally saw the first episode of RWBY, a show I’ve been looking forward to for a couple of months now. It initially piqued my interest for sitting in the nether-land between American cartoon and Japanese anime and the show has most certainly delivered in that aspect. The only drawbacks are that the first episode is not quite as polished as the trailers in terms of animating quality and the voice delivery is a bit dry. Otherwise, RWBY sounds promising as a show. It definitely has an intriguing premise going for it (albeit a bit strange), and the music is phenomenal. You can watch the first episode here.

As for the song below, it’s actually both an remix and a excellent mashup of all the music in the various trailers:

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vqNYiHROg6E]

“From Shadows, Extended Edition” (also from RWBY)

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nn5LxRYtxRo]
Yan Wei-ling X Utopia:

“浮光掠影 remix by DJ Point

[youtube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EcOwa2pSBYA]
EXO X U-Kiss???

Someone on tumblr (the person’s credit should be on the tumblr post) posted the craziest remix/mash-up of “Baby Don’t Cry” by Exo and “Baby Don’t Cry” by U-Kiss. And it totally works. Shocker, I know.

Hear it here.

DBSK:

“Mirotic (Remix Ver.)”

This is one of the best remixes of a song I’ve heard because it maintains the integrity of the original song, doesn’t add a lot of needless dubstep/electronic effects, and is unified across the song (i.e. not like Shinee‘s recent “remix”). DBSK used this remix in most of their gayo perfomances, so most of you may have heard it already.

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S0-18nLpsTc]
Flow:

“Colors (DJ Amaya Angel at Dawn Remix)”

I came across Flow in my admittedly embarrassing Naruto phase, where I watched most of the first season and some of the Shippudden series until I gave up. The story when from passable to horribly mediocre. A lot of the story is written under the context of continually extending the story, rather than as a pathway to completing a grand narrative. In many ways, the show was a waste of my time—that is, except for the music.

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h1gPo25IPJo]

This is the terrible playlist of the week idea I came up with before the actual one. Hopefully you’ll like it anyway! Also, let me know of your favorite remixes in the comments. I most certainly did not hit all the best ones. 

(Roosterteeth, Credits to Youtube Uploaders)

Comment

