Just For Fun: “It is not truth that matters, but victory” and Drama OSTs

Peppertones_Cyrano

This week’s playlist is all about the victories in Drama OST music, because this is a collection of songs I really loved in a genre that I…don’t like all too often. It’s probably not the “OST genre” that I don’t like, because OSTs are not really a genre of music, but the usual offering in drama OSTs amount to overused sappy ballads that last 5 minutes too long. Once you hear about eight of those, they get really, really boring. So why don’t we forget that the ninety percent of boring OSTs exist, and focus on the ten percent that actually is really, really good?

Side Note:  Jang Tae-joo, you demented fool, I hope you like the quotation courtesy of Adolf Hitler—your supposed idol.

Speaking of my insane drama addiction, Empire of Gold, the first song in this playlist is “In My Dream,” sung by the wonderful Ali:

The Fan MV is pretty nice, except for the fact that it’s totally weird because there’s not much of a love line between Seo-yoon and Tae-joo (as of yet) to actually depict in the video. Regardless, I’m not ready to swallow romantic relations between those two at all. But in my defense, it’s not like we have much to go on; every interaction they’ve had so far has consisted of death stares and/or business talk. Before I get too sidetracked however, I want to mention how awesome the song is. Elements of rock and orchestra meld together really well in it.

Ra.D‘s “어떤 설레임 (Something Flutters),” from Dating Agency: Cyrano:

I really loved this song whenever it came up in Cyrano. It sets the perfect mood for the light, yet surprisingly insightful drama. I never got tired of it, no matter how many times it’s played. On the other hand, Jessica‘s song in the drama, I never want to hear it again. It was way overplayed, plus her voice is really grating.

Actually, now that I think about it, Cyrano‘s entire OST is really awesome. Peppertones and Big Baby Driver were amazing additions.

My Girlfriend is a Gumiho OST:

This is one of the first OSTs I really liked, because it balanced fun and sorrowful really well. There such an eclectic mix of some rather crazy styles in the OST, and despite the fact there are one or two annoying ballads in the mix, (like “The Person I Will Love”) I still really love the whole thing. I especially enjoyed the tracks from Lee Seung-gi, No Min-woo, Kim Gun-mo and even Shin Min-ah.

Taru‘s “Kasio” from My Princess

My Princess was super memorable for me because I finally got to watch Korea’s acting beauties, Kim Tae-hee, and Song Seung-hoon act (or sort of act). It was certainly a fun drama to watch, since the sets and the clothes were gorgeous, but what I liked most was the OST. “Kasio,” “Falling” and “Because of You” were my favorite tracks.

Super Kidd “I Want To Live My Way” from The King 2 Hearts OST

Watching Lee Yoon-ji perform this song in the first episode (?) was the funniest thing ever, and I’ve loved the song ever since. It’s such an iconic song because it’s so ridiculously different for an OST and yet super entertaining and fun.

EDIT: I can’t believe I forgot Shut Up Flower Boy Band‘s OST!

That’s it from me on Drama OSTs (for now—I think I’ll cover non-Korean ones next week), so it’s now your turn. What OSTs are your favorite, or maybe just surprising to hear?

(YouTube [1] [2] [3] [4], and the Youtube Uploaders featured in the playlists)

One response to “Just For Fun: “It is not truth that matters, but victory” and Drama OSTs

  1. You should totally check out R.aD’s other materials because he sounds just as awesome on his other tracks. He reminds me a bit of Khalil Fong (with the R&B vibe).

    Like

Comment

