Looking Forward To: Master’s Sun [Updated With 2nd Trailer]

masterssun_gonghyojin

It feels like an eternity since I’ve seen a Hong Sisters‘s drama, especially since I didn’t like Big all that much. The last time I felt like I loved a drama of theirs is while watching My Girlfriend is a Gumiho, because there was something magical about that drama that I cannot find any objective basis for. You know the kind of feeling you get when everything just “clicks?” That’s what I felt while watching the drama.

Master’s Sun is looking to be another one of those dramas that just works. Maybe it will falter to a drama cliches or two, or maybe it will have some narrative inconsistencies as well, but that doesn’t matter because the end product seems to know what it is. One can always appreciate a drama with self-worth, because you devote your attention to what it does well rather than what it doesn’t.

In any case, Master’s Sun is setting itself up to be dark, creepy, hilarious, and totally self-aware—which is exactly up my alley. On the other hand, as to whether anyone else will like it, I really don’t know. My current streak of enjoying dramas that others do is sitting at an abysmal 0 out of 3 in the last month. Let’s see if this trend continues.

(—I have strange drama choices, okay? It’s a fact of life, and I accept my weirdness.)

masterssun_gonghyojin_sojisub

Plot Synopsis for Master’s Sun:

Gong Hyo-jin is Tae Gong-shil, a poor unfortunate soul who can see other dead souls floating around the living, i.e. ghosts, because of some strange accident. Gong-shil was once a happy-go-lucky woman, but after death starts following her around, she becomes rather gloomy. (I mean, who wouldn’t?) But dramas are no fun with only one poor unfortunate soul, so Joo Joong-won (So Ji-sub) gets to be yet another poor unfortunate soul, forced to be clung onto (literally) by Ms. Tae for eternity. Why? Because that’s the only way she can’t see ghosts.

Expect lots of hijinks to ensue, because well, it is a Hong Sisters drama.

The Teasers:

Super creepy and super awesome. This totally sold the drama for me.

This drama takes over after I Can Hear Your Voice, which is currently deliberating on an (always unpopular) extension. A.k.a, no one knows when this starts for sure besides end of July, beginning of August-ish.

(SBS)

2 responses to “Looking Forward To: Master’s Sun [Updated With 2nd Trailer]

  1. For a faint hearted girl like me, the teaser kind of freaking me out =.=” Depending on my free time, I might check it out while it’s airing…or I’ll have to marathon it later 😀 But Gong Hyo-jin is sooooo pretty and adorable!

    Like

Comment

