Open Thread: A Euphemism for “Suggestion Box”

So yeah, this is basically a suggestion box, but that just sounds far too tacky to leave it at that. I tend to be very nice about fulfilling requests, so have at it.

Or you can spazz about Tohoshinki. That is always welcome around here. LOL. Or any group, really.Β 

purpleiffeltower

In other news, I caved against my hipster nature and got a tumblr. The only problem is that it’s the most useless tumblr ever, though I do get in touch with my social justice and cultural discussion side. Find it here.

17 responses to “Open Thread: A Euphemism for “Suggestion Box”

  1. So this is where we leave suggestions and album recommendations?

    1. Seo In Young – forever young

    Have you been a Cassie since the beginning? I really miss them as five. Even though HoMin are constantly improving as a duo, their newer tracks have been hit and miss.

    Like

    • Yup! It will be easier for me to have all the suggestions in one place.

      As for your second question, I got into K-pop through Super Junior in late 2009, and I don’t think I became a DB5K fan until late 2010. Actually, in retrospect I don’t even know what specific event propelled me to become a huge DB5K fanatic; however, I know my first video of theirs was “Mirotic,” despite the fact that I didn’t think much of it at the time.

      As for their derivatives, I’m still on the fence. Homin and JYJ have taken very unique paths, and not all for the best. I stil hope they do well though. It’s just a lot of hits and misses on both ends.

      Like

      • We got into kpop around the same time! I started paying a lot more attention to the genre when SuJu released Sorry Sorry early of 2009. Since then, I’ve been all about kpop n hardly listen to anything else.

        DB5K is an irreplaceable group. They don’t make idols like them anymore, which is a shame. After the split, I gravitate towards the duo because I felt JYJ is still lacking in their production value. Their stuff still sounds quite amateurish. It’s great they are branching out and are more involved in the creative process but in terms of quality work, SM/HoMin has the upper hand.

        Which of the hoobae groups do you think emulate DB5K’s formula (or the era of harmonising is over)?

        Like

        • DB5K’s brand of music has pretty much been laid to rest, may it rest in peace.

          As for hoobae groups, I don’t think anyone has really tried to emulate them, since strong a cappella doesn’t really exist anymore in K-pop. Harmonizing is still around, see Shinee, the new group “The Gloss,” or DGNA(?), etc.

          Like

      • DGNA is one of those I have my eye on. They have the potential… I was so disappointed when they couldn’t release their album! Since “Lady”, I saw DB5K’s shadow in them n was eagerly waiting for them to comeback… *sighs*

        The rookie group History, also reminds me of DB5K a lil. They’re totally dorks offstage too. I gravitate towards those idols who don’t take themselves too seriously. I watched Wonder Boyz just fooling around and jamming in their YouTube vids last night n is totally sold. Haha…

        Sorry I’m posting so much. I’ve a lot of free time on my hands…

        Like

      • Ehehe… that’s why the kpop fandom feels like one big family. We r always so eager to share our thoughts πŸ˜€

        Like

  2. Hey! What sort of suggestions are you looking for? I wanna suggest but haha I’m a little confused πŸ˜›

    Like

    • Sorry I wasn’t clear! Music Review Suggestions, or anything else you’d like me to talk about that would interest you. (i.e. I’m outsourcing some of the brainstorming to you all :P)

      Like

      • haha! no prob πŸ˜› I’m dramarathon on tumblr btw, just followed you πŸ˜€ I’m so happy you reviewed SaltNpaper they’re one of the best things that have come my way this year! I’m actually not so much a kpop person, but I appreciate your reviews πŸ™‚

        Like

        • Though I do seem to write a lot about K-pop, I actually think that I’m kind of getting tired of the over-saturation of it here. I cover all things East Asian popular culture, so don’t hesitate to ask for things like a Nell review (hint, hint) or something about dramas!

          BTW, thanks for following me on tumblr!

          Like

          • NELL review :DD Or maybe a NELL history/discography looking back thing if you’re up for it haha! takes alot of time though so just a random suggestion
            Tumblr is fun and addicting, you’ll see soon enough heh πŸ˜€ thanks for following back~
            what other kindie/krock artists do you listen to? do you listen to japanese/chinese music?

            Like

          • I do listen to Japanese Music (Rock especially), and I’ve dabbled in some Chinese music as well. I’m covering Monoral for my next “Artist Overview,” and that should be up soon! πŸ™‚

            Love your tumblr, btw.

            Like

  3. I’d love to hear your thoughts on Kwon Soon Kwan’s(from No Reply) A Door. πŸ˜€
    I got to know about DB5K around 2007-ish (the first DB5K song that I listened to was Rising Sun), they were pretty much THE representative of kpop for me back then. My knowledge of kpop was pretty limited as I only knew of Rain and DB5K. I didn’t really listen to k-music seriously until 2010, sadly DB5K broke up towards the end of that year. Things got ugly between the fandoms, as we all know. That break up propelled me to listen to their material, and I was sold. Man, the feels that I get when they do accapellas! A friend of mine was a Cassiopeia, so I used to watch the DBSK videos that she’s downloaded onto her hard disk. I’ve watched their Banjun dramas,read fanfics of them (HA. Those were the days.) and some of the variety shows that they’ve been on. I didn’t dig them for their looks, it was their voices that enchanted me. SO MUCH TALENT! I still don’t consider myself a Cassiopeia but it is an undeniable fact that kpop wouldn’t be as successful as it is today without DB5K carving out the pathway for the hoobaes. I’ve said this once, and I’ll say this again. I miss seeing them as five!

    Like

Comment

