Just For Fun: Henry Lau and his Violin

Henry made his debut on Music Bank today with the song “Trap” featuring Taemin and Kyuhyun. He also released his debut solo mini album yesterday, also entitled Trap, which I have embedded below.

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hGf3fjh_yIo&list=PLVl2h70p_BRfiwKbEkYFPQlVlMqrdjVFY&index=1]

(BTW, leave a comment if you want me to do a review for the album.)

The debut album is pretty nice, with half the album being composed by Henry’s music production team, Noize Bank.

—However, there is one glaring hole in all of this: where in the world is Henry’s Violin?

The reason I like Henry as much as I do is 90% due to his mad Violin skills. What other pop star plays Vivaldi’s Summer like a pro and break dances at the same time? As a former (average) Violinist myself, watching him play was like the coolest thing ever. Henry oozed charisma in all of his violin performances, and here’s one of them:

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jeds5WkG1OU]

Amazing right? And then watch this:

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=AIgwozTZ1ds#!]

Yeah, it’s nice and all, but I still think the best parts were when he was playing the piano, not actually singing the song…

That said, “Trap” is still a great song, but I just don’t think that Henry quite has the it factor to pull it off as a solo endeavor. I’m curious as to what would happen if he made a remix where he included a violin interlude. Actually, he totally should.

And feature Amber the second time around.

(Youtube [1] [2] [3])

6 responses to “Just For Fun: Henry Lau and his Violin

  1. I can’t get pass his voice… I listened to the whole album but all I can remember is that his vocals are too thin and flat for me. I wished a better vocalist was picked to sing his songs instead… n Henry stuck to what he does better, killing it with his instruments.

    Like

      • If you aren’t too bogged down with the 1099 other posts you need to work on ;d I can read reviews all day, every day hehe… especially looking forward to your TVXQ specials cos they’re my ultimate group.

        p/s. there are many other songs I’d like to introduce to you too. do you only do album reviews? or single tracks as well?

        Like

        • LOL. I bite off much more than I can possibly chew, don’t I?

          I also do single reviews, depending on how good the single is. I prefer doing album reviews, but if the rest of the album is meh, then I’ll just stick to the single.

          I’m tempted to make a suggestion thread for all of you.

          Like

  2. Finally someone mentions about the violin! I was wondering why something felt amiss when I listened to this album. I don’t know if it’s just me but personally, my favourite track(ironically) has got to be the English track I Would. It’s the only song that stuck to it after first listen. I’d love to hear your thoughts on this album, hopefully you’ll decide to review it. 😀

    Like

  3. I totally agree, the best part of Trap was the piano parts, and he was most attractive then… the other parts were meh I dont even remember most of it haha! album is okay pretty good but not like outstanding

    Like

Comment

