Just For Fun: K-pop Covers, All Ways

Baekhyun Fan Art

While laughing my head off and crying at the same time over the newly leaked “Wolf” practice video, (I’m still holding out hope that the atrocity will not be released and I can still live in my fantasy land of Exo) I came across an acoustic cover of “Wolf” by turnonyourtv.

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wIoJ4DY6-JM]

This time, I cried tears of happiness, because I finally found hope for the song.

(Well guys, it turns out that SM is currently not a fan of covers of “Wolf” since it technically hasn’t been released yet…)
Civilians Sing K-pop

I ended up going to through all of her covers, and here is a selection of them. I actually preferred the covers for songs that you normally wouldn’t put an acoustic cover to (like the electronic stuff). Definitely check out her channel through the link above.

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PCiR2E65FQA] [youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dDToIpYTJR4] [youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fO40dxy_vvM]

So, of course, that gets my head spinning about covers, from covers done by K-pop artists themselves, to what people record on a rainy day at home.  These are a couple other flavors of covers, and hopefully it will get you all exploring too.

K-pop Stars Sing English

I’m usually not a fan of English Covers, just because the phrasing and enunciation tends to be off. Plus, it’s not like they’re singing and understanding what the song means (often anyway). These below are some of my favorites despite my general dislike for English covers.

“Viva La Vida”

What kind of Younha fan would I be if I didn’t include her fantastic cover of Coldplay‘s “Viva La Vida?” It’s not entirely acoustic, so don’t be fooled by the beginning.

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iAqDNGd3AiE]
“Speak Now”

I was really surprised at Seohyun‘s English pronunciation, so I just had to add it here, terrible princess dress aside.

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bwdqE_GMMec]
“Unfaithful”

Technically Ailee isn’t a K-pop star at the point the cover was made, but with impeccable English (she grew up in the states) and a killer voice, this is one of my favorite covers ever.

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=55Vj3PH-yxI]
K-pop Stars Sing K-pop

These are the covers that I enjoy watching, especially from rookie groups.  It’s interesting to see their takes on popular songs.

“I’ll Be Back”

This is a surprisingly good cover of 2PM‘s “I’ll Be Back” by 100% and actually made me take them seriously as a group. (Rookies tend to have a hard time getting on my personal lists…except Big Three groups get it easy. Why did I just guilt trip myself?) As a side note, avoid the “Mirotic” cover from them, because they don’t have strong enough vocals to pull it off yet.

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GuRbfpR4hDs]
Boys are Girls, Girls are Boys

These are usually the funniest covers to watch, because of all the cross-dressing and the lightheartedness.

“Gee”

Do you think I’ll pass up on one of the most hilarious covers ever, Super Junior‘s version of “Gee”?

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UKq8vUFe5yU]

I’ll be adding more as I come up with them, but in the meantime, what are some of your favorite covers? Let me know in the comments!

(Youtube [1] [2] [3] [4] [5], Image by pervingonkpop)

3 responses to “Just For Fun: K-pop Covers, All Ways

  1. Wah, that cover of Wolf is unbelievably good but I wasn’t a hater of the song to begin with. It’s varied but not of the “I’m so curious” atrocity of Shinee’s Sherlock. Imo, wolf is listenable and the dance looks fierce because Exo are amazing dancers (I think I can become their fan for dancing alone). I don’t ever feel like Kpop idols take themselves too serious and I’m definitely not getting a serious feeling from the concept of Wolf. It’s playful and over-the-top but that’s Kpop!

    Like

    • Shinee’s “Why So Serious?” was kind of scary as well. I’m not liking this trend of terrible main singles, but the good side is, most of the albums with terrible title tracks have been great overall. I’m hoping for the same with Exo.

      Like

  2. Yoseob’s cover or “cracks of my broken heart” by Eric Benet! One of the reasons why I became a huge fan of Beast!

    Like

Comment

